EXCEL DEFENSE

Subtitle

FAQ


OHIO CONCEALED CARRY COURSE.

  1. How can I pay my $25.00 deposit?

    There are several ways to get your deposit to us.

    1. By Mail to: Don Mason 220 Maple Lane, Unit 102, Green Springs, OH 44836

    2. In person (call / text 419-967-0192) for info.

    3. Credit / debit card over phone or in person.

    4. Click on the "web store" tab on this site.

    5. PayPal to: [email protected]

    6. Drop off at RSS 129 S. Broadway Street in Green Springs.

  2. Where are the classes held?

    We have two locations to serve you. The Green Springs class is held at Wynn-Reeth, 137 South Broadway Street in Green Springs, OH 44836.  We are located at the corner of Broadway and Euclid directly accross from the drive through carry out.

    And the Elmore class is held at the Sportsmen's Stop 2963 OH-590, Elmore, OH 43416.  We are located at the corner of S.R. 590 and Elmore Eastern Road.

  3. Who Can obtain an Ohio Handgun Concealed Carry Permit (CCW) ?

    Any law abiding resident of the State of Ohio, at least 21 years of age, and a resident for at least 30 days. You must pass a criminal background check. Certain violent crimes, drug offenses, etc. will disqualify an applicant. You must obtain certified training from a certified Ohio CCW / CHL instructor.

  4. What will I need to bring with me for the class?

    A handgun, 50 rounds of ammunition for your handgun, eye protection, hearing protection, a strong side holster for your handgun, a billed hat (baseball cap), a lunch, snacks and beverages, and a pen paper and pencil.

    If you do not have a handgun, you may use one of ours at no charge.

    Ammunition is also available for purchase from us.

  5. What if I do not own a handgun?

    We have several handguns to choose from with holsters in which you may borrow to take the course.  Ammunition may also be purchased from us at market price which is usually about $.20 per round.

  6. How long is my permit good for?

    Five years.

  7. What other states will recognize my CCW / CHL?

    AK*, AR, AZ, DE, FL, IA, ID, IN, KS, KY, LA, MI, MN, MO, MS, MT, NC, ND, NE, NM, NV, OK, SC, SD, TN, UT, VA, VT*, WA, WV, WY,

    (* Vermont, Alaska & Arizona, Anyone who can legally own a firearm can carry it concealed. No Permit / license is required. Must be 21 Y/O)

  8. Where am I NOT permitted to carry my concealed handgun?

    Police stations * Sheriff's offices * Highway Patrol posts * Premises controlled by BCI * Correction institutions or other detention facilities * Airport terminals or commercial airplanes * Institutions for the care of mentally ill persons * Courthouses or buildings in which a courtroom is located * Universities, unless locked in a motor vehicle or in the process of being locked in a motor vehicle * Places of worship, unless they permit otherwise * Child day care facilities * Class D liquor permit premises if you are consuming liquor or there is a sign posted in a in plain sight forbidding firearms * Government facitities at which government employees are in which any person regularly present in the performance of their duties that are not used primarily as a shelter, restroom, parking facility for motor vehicles, or rest facility and is not a courthouse or a building or structure in which a courtroom is located * School safety zones, unless you are immediately in the process of picking up or dropping off a child and you do not exit the vehicle * Any private business which posts a sign prohibiting firearms or makes you aware of a policy prohibiting firearms.

  9. What do I do if stopped by Law Enforcement?

    Keep your hands in plain sight. Do not touch your firarm unless instructed to do so by the officer. Do not exit your vehicle unless instructed to do so by the officer. Immediatly and calmly inform the officer that you have a concealed handgun license and are carrying or have a loaded firearm.

  10. How much does the County Sheriff's office charge for the permit?

    $67.00

  11. Where can I see more FAQs for the Ohio CCW?

  12. Where can I obtain the Ohio Concealed Carry Permit Application?

    Just click on the documents tab of this website and download the standard Ohio CCW Permit Application.

  13. Where can I download the Ohio Gun Laws Booklet?

    Just click on the documents tab of this website and download the Ohio CCW Law Book.

  14. What are the differences between the Green Springs course and the Elmore course?

    The Green Springs course is $75.00 and classes are booked and managed by Excel Defense and are held in Green Springs, OH. You must bring a lunch, we do our range qualifications at an outdoor range regardless of weather conditions. The Elmore course is $100.00 and classes are booked and managed by the Sportsmens Stop in Elmore, OH. Morning snacks, lunch are all included in the fee and we do our range qualifications on a climate controlled indoor range. The Sportsmens Stop contracts with Excel Defense to teach the Ohio CCW course, so the content of the course is identical at either location you choose.

  15. How long is the course?

    The course is 8 hours as mandated by the state of Ohio.  We do the course in one day as we have found this to be the preferred method by our students.

  16. What are the course hours?

    The class starts promptly at 8:00 am and concludes at 4:00 pm.

  17. Do you offer personal / private / semi-private CCW classes?

    Yes,  The fee is $300.00 for the first 1 - 5 people and $50.00 for each additional person up to 24 people.

  18. What if I have never shot a gun before?

    We pride ourselves on having the ability to bring new shooters up to a level of confidence to obtain the knowledge, skills and attitude necessary to handle a fire arm in a safe and effective manner.

  19. Is there a minimum number of students to conduct a class?

    We have a 6 student minimum.

Back to top

BASIC HANDGUN RETENTION COURSE.

  1. How can I pay my $25.00 deposit?

    There are several ways to get your deposit to us.

    1. By Mail to: Don Mason P.O. Box 407, Fremont, OH 43420

    2. In person (call / text 419-967-0192) for info.

    3. Credit / debit card over phone or in person.

    4. Click on the "web store" tab on this site.

    5. PayPal to: [email protected]

    6. Drop off at RSS 129 S. Broadway Street in Green Springs.

  2. Who is eligable to participate in this course?

    Anyone that hold a CURRENT Ohio CCW permit.  Any current / retired law inforcement officer.

  3. What items will I need for the class?

    Old clothes that you don't mind getting ruined (should be similar to what you wear when you carry concealed).  A athletic cup (male students).  A strong side holster that fits your firearm.  A quality belt. Training firearm (optional)

  4. How long is the course?

    The couse is usually 4 hours in length.  Actual time may vary depending on certain cIrcumstanses.

Back to top

SELF DEFENSE CLASSES

  1. Do you offer womens only self defense classes?

    Yes, we offer a very comprehensive common sense aproach to self defense geared specifically for females. 

Back to top